Skip navigation links
City Commission Office
City Manager's Office
News & Social Media
Visit Dayton
Get E-Mails
Skip navigation links
City of Dayton
City Commission OfficeExpand City Commission Office
City Manager's Office
Google Translate
City Commission  
City of Dayton > City Commission Office


The Dayton City Commission is comprised of Mayor Nan WhaleyCommissioner Dean Lovelace, Commissioner Joey Williams, Commissioner Matt Joseph and Commissioner Jeffrey J. Mims. We are proud to serve the thousands of citizens, businesses and visitors who enjoy Dayton's unique qualities. Our goal is to provide the services, amenities and open government you expect from a first-class city. As the hub of a thriving region, we are focused on activities that enhance Dayton as a preferred place to live, raise families, attend school, work and be entertained.


You may contact the City Commission Office in any of the following manners:

Phone:         937-333-3636

Fax:               937-333-4297

In person:    City Hall, 101 W. Third St., Second Floor

Mail:            Dayton City Commission

                     P.O. Box 22

                     Dayton, Ohio  45401-0022

Driving Directions:   

City Hall is located at 101 W. Third St. (at Ludlow) in downtown Dayton.

To reach City Hall from outside the downtown area, exit I-75 at North Main Street. Drive south on Main to Monument Avenue. Drive west on Monument (one block) and proceed south on Ludlow Street to West Third Street (parking is available on the street or at the Municipal Garage, 123 W. Third St.). See a Google Map here or plan a trip via Greater Dayton RTA.

Note: Most I-75 exits to downtown Dayton are closed for construction. Main Street provides the most direct route from I-75.

About the City of Dayton

The Dayton City Commission is comprised of the Mayor and four City Commissioners. Each City Commission member is elected at-large on a non-partisan basis for four-year, over-lapping terms. All policy items are decided by the City Commission, which is empowered by the City Charter to pass ordinances and resolutions, adopt regulations and appoint the City Manager. Dayton was the first large American city to adopt the city manager form of municipal government, in 1913.



As stewards of the public trust, our mission is to provide leadership, excellent services, and participatory government to enhance the quality of community for all who live, work, raise families, play, or conduct business in Dayton.




Dayton is a community where people choose to live, work, play, and raise families.  We serve as a regional leader and resource in offering cutting-edge services to our many customers.

Core Values

We serve our citizens and one another with courtesy and dignity recognizing the impact our actions have on the quality of life now and in the future.  We value the diversity throughout our community and organization.

We are honest and ethical in all of our dealings with each other and with the public.

In the performance of our duties, we are individually and collectively accountable to citizens, customers, and stakeholders. We are competent, responsible, and dedicated to providing effective and efficient services.

Commitment to Excellence
We provide quality services with a continuing focus on customer value and financial performance. These services are provided with clear communication, cooperation, and teamwork.

 Quick Hits